Sky Angels

Today, I was reminded of an interesting phenomenon: as people age, the instinct to look up lessens. The article I read (for an Educational Psychology class, I think) described how when children play hiding games, their searching strategy included looking up more frequently than looking down. Consequently, when hiding, the strategy is to hide under things rather than on top of things. And, as we age, this process reverses.

Since then, I’ve often wondered if this simple change, the frequency of looking up vs. down, plays a role in losing the child-like wonder of the world as one ages.  I haven’t tested this idea except on myself…and I can tell you that whenever I take time to look up, I always feel uplifted, lighter, happier and more relaxed. So, I’ve also made it a practice to look up as often as I can while I go about my life. This, then, is the primary reason I look into the sky while walking from my car to my office each morning.

One recent morning, however, the sky captivated me from the moment I stepped out of the house. As one who struggles to accomplish anything other than routine practices before the hour of 10 am (including waking up enough to get to work on time), I feel quite accomplished even remembering to look up while walking to work each morning; to notice the sky before that moment means something spectacular is taking place. And indeed it was.

Wispy bits of flowing clouds, arranged in all different shapes and directions, filled the sky. I stared at it a while, quite distracted as I drove. And then I saw it…a cloud angel. Then there was another one…and another…and another. They were everywhere…and they all looked different. Some faced me, some were side profiles, some showed only their backs. Some had big wings and others had small wings. Some had streaming hair and others only had a head silhouette. 

By the time I could get out of the car and locate an image capturer (only my low-quality phone camera was available), this huge one was the only angel remaining in the sky. She held on to her shape until I snapped her photo and then I watched her dissipate. As she did, I felt her surround me with love and hugs and her presence stayed with me all day. 

Thank you angel messengers for reminding me to experience the endless amount of Divine Unconditional Love that always surrounds me.

I wish the same for you.

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Saturday, April 28th, 2012 at 9:41 am

    What a lovely post!

  2. Saturday, April 28th, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    I love those clouds… they really do look like angels 🙂 I used to like lying in the grass on a hill where I lived in England – I used to stare at the clouds as they scudded past. You could see the cars and the people going by too. I used to wonder who they were and where they were going 🙂

    …this also partly explains why I always stop to stare at the stars too 🙂

    • Seraphina said,

      Saturday, April 28th, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      I can relate to this wonderment. I do that too…I do that with footprints at the beach…who are those people and what is their story and reason for being there and crossing my path…even if it’s just their footprints greeting mine. Your hill reminds me of a hill I loved when I was child…I too would lie in the tall, unmowed grasses…staring at the sky and just being Nature. Thanks for reminding me of that. 🙂

  3. Sunday, April 29th, 2012 at 8:17 am

    🙂 You’re welcome. Makes me want to go find a hill now…. LOL


Leave a Reply

