Mineral Food

This week Autumn arrived where I live. The sky aged to shades of gray, a cold wind blew, cleansing nature of all the things it was ready to release…leaves, bark, branches, nests, skins, seeds… Then it rained. And rained, and rained, and rained. 

Whenever weather turns inclement, I crave soup. This week in the Farmer’s Market, I delighted in seeing turnips. My excitement in seeing these earth foods surprised the farmer and she commented that most people aren’t such big fans of turnips. I replied, “It’s all in how you cook it, and with what you cook it.”

I also purchased some onions but couldn’t find parsnips anywhere in the market. It took a few days to find them, but by the time the rain began, all the ingredients were in my kitchen and I set to work.

I began by turning on my Chris Botti station on Pandora, and making myself a cup of tea. This ritual calms my mind and opens my senses so that I can experience all the textures and flavors that the food has to offer me. My cooking always tastes better when I take the time to slow down and work with it in gratitude…connecting with everyone who has had a part in providing support for the growth of this food as well as bringing it to my kitchen.

As I bring the finished product to my lips, the pungent mineral odor of earth fills my mouth and nose. Tangy, slightly bitter, slightly sweet and creamy, the smooth, fluffy texture enhances the flavor as it continues to unfold on the tongue. I ladle a bowl-full, garnish the top with fresh cilantro, pour a glass of Summerland Pinot Gris 2008 and sit by the window. As kitty curls up in my lap, I watch the rain, Chris Botti still serenading me and I am bliss.

Leave a Reply

