Luna’s Allure

I love this painting, don’t you? The first time I experienced it, the air turned sparkly and everything within and around me buzzed with electrical anticipation that something magical was about to happen. Then, the longer I stood there, standing on the crystal water, the more certain I became that Something indeed was about to happen…and spent the rest of my day with a song in my head and a skip in my step as I looked for this event to come to me.

Even now, after hundreds of viewings, I really can’t explain the effect of this work upon me. Is it the layers of clouds…peeling away and revealing ever more beauty and adventure with those two pinpricks of starry light? Is it the glassy mirror of the water inviting me to follow the path of light on yet another adventure? Is it the incredible selection and blend of colors: blues and purples and yellows and pinks and greens, so beautifully applied? Perhaps it is the water and the perfect reflection of the moon? Or is it the moon Herself? Is Luna truly the Mistress of Enchantment? The Key to the mysteries of night? Surely after so many years of existence we have tired of the endless stream of verses and songs and dedication to the Queen of the Night. And yet…I am captivated. Somehow, I know that if I could channel my inner Mary Poppins-ness and step into this painting, I would shimmer too; inspired to dance with the light and the Elemental with me.

As if this weren’t amazing enough, the manifester of this magic is Steve Richardson, surfer and professional fisherman. Almost ten years ago, he again tapped into his passion for painting which lead to him teaching painting to those diagnosed with Autism. His students’ work is equally impressive, demonstrating in him a sensitive, insightful and compassionate nature. Now that I think about it, those same qualities are what strike me most about this painting, leading me to wonder if the magic doesn’t lie within the subject…but rather in the creator. 

4 Comments

  1. krismerino said,

    Friday, November 18th, 2011 at 3:19 am

    Thanks for the link & great post!

  2. Seraphina said,

    Friday, November 18th, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Thank you! Thanks for stopping by and making a connection. 🙂

  3. Judy said,

    Sunday, November 20th, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    I certainly see why a painting like that has such appeal for you — and for me as well. It draws me into the subtle action of nature, calls me to stop and linger and see what is unfolding and developing and to wait in silence for what is yet to come . . . Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

