Origin of Goth Eyes

Goth eyes

Isn’t this an amazing painting? You have everything from a wizened man to plump cherubs, red hair to black hair, beards, no beards, armor, no armor, pink and…the best thing of all…everyone has Goth eyes. This alone is the reason I added this photo to my personal collection. No, I didn’t purchase it…I saved it in my private museum in Art Project, powered by Google (http://www.googleartproject.com)

I came across this brilliant experience through a TED talk. I have recently taken up the practice of watching TED talks during my lunch hour at work. I usually watch two selections then I go for a walk outside. By the time my lunch hour is over, I am inspired, relaxed and rejuvenated and often times have something fabulous to share with the people around me. It’s a great mid-day pick-me-up.

The Art Project, powered by Google  is an amazing project born from the brain of Amit Sood. Now, I imagine that this wasn’t solely his idea, but he’s the one who presented it at TED (I tried to put the link here, but it was too long), so I think it’s probably ok to put his name to the project.

The first thing Mr. Sood did, was to use Google Earth technology to give someone the experience of being in an art museum that one may not ever be able to visit in this lifetime. This alone is brilliant, in my mind, for often the architecture of the container for the art is as lovely as the art that is held inside (One such exception is the DeYoung Museum in San Francisco. The new building is hideous and the experience inside is cold and sterile. I much prefer the experience at the Palace of the Legion of Honor http://legionofhonor.famsf.org/).

As one navigates through the galleries, one can select a painting to view in finer detail. And when I say finer detail, I mean just that. Mr. Sood uses giga-pixel technology when photographing the paintings. This allows the viewer to zoom into a painting to such a degree that one can almost measure the width of the cracks in the paint. I have never before been able to explore the hidden secrets of a painting in such wonderous detail. This is what allowed me to verify that the above painting (Altarpiece of Santa Maria Nuova–Madonna dello Spedalingo, 1518, Rosso Fiorentino, 1494-1540) does indeed intend for the subjects to have Goth eyes.

Whereupon, I promptly selected the painting to be added to my collection of paintings within the art project itself. I simply log in to my Google account and I can now create a museum of paintings from within the collections of the many museums available. If I were an art history teacher, I’d be ecstatic at this development, including the ability to categorically tag all my selections, and…quite possibly present a case for the origination of Goth eyes.

1 Comment

  1. Tuesday, June 14th, 2011 at 4:48 am

    […] Origin of Goth Eyes (mysoulleapt.wordpress.com) […]


