Textures of Water

Textured water

This week I popped in to the Getty Center for the last bits of the day after a meeting. A favorite place of mine due to the architecture and views and art all blended into one experience, I visit it as frequently as possible. Familiar with the art collection already, I chose to focus on the garden areas which I often overlook.

I wandered down the path toward the Central Garden, crisscrossing the stream as it flowed toward the waterfall. At each bridge, I marveled again at the design…not only of the wood patterns on the bridge, but of the stones in the water. At the top of the path, the stones are massive and stubbornly rooted. The water is forced to find a path around the hewn rocks and the sound of that energy is strong and demands to be noticed. At each subsequent crossing, the water flows more easily due to ever decreasing rock sizes and the resulting pitch of the water also lowers until at the last bridge there are just large, smooth river rocks lining the floor of the water’s path to the waterfall.

I stare at the water as it rushes over these smooth rocks and then plummets down a steep staircase to a large pool below and I’m again curious as to why I cannot see a water. I see many waters all blended together, but I can never pick out a single water. I realize that it’s similar to air molecules, but for some reason that rarely surprises me. Water, however, always surprises me…such force…such energy…such adaptation…such magentism. Yet, I wonder if a single water molecule could achieve that on its own or if it requires a connection to other water molecules.

After visiting the plants in the garden, I make my way up to the center area between the gallery buildings and I meet the pool of water in the photograph. It surprises me…I don’t remember it being there. I remember other pools of water tucked away between buildings, but this one eludes my conscious memory. There’s a slight breeze blowing and the water responds by creating yet another texture with the light. I’m stunned at the beauty of this intricate pattern that would require a massive amount of mathematics to explain or duplicate, yet is created easily and instantly with just a bit of sun and wind. Again, I shake my head…water still has managed to surprise and amaze me…and it makes me smile.

