To Be or Not To Be

Selaginella

One of the things I do whenever my soul needs a pick-me-up is to visit a nursery. I don’t mean a baby nursery in a hospital (although I’m sure there are many arguments to be made for and against such a place being a pick-me-up for the soul); I mean a plant nursery. 

Whenever I’m surrounded by plants, I’m struck by the seeming simplicity of their lives. While some plants serve important purposes from a human perspective, it must be acknowledged that some plants’ sole purpose is to just be…and be beautiful…even if no one sees them or appreciates their beauty. They remind me that while others might criticize me for not being enough this way or being too much that way, that just being me is enough…to let my inner light shine for beauty’s sake. And that is enough. 

